Time for a Rearrangement

I am feeling a bit of cabin fever.  Are you feeling it too?  A little bit restless and BORED!  Spring is so close yet still so far away. Time for a  living room mini-makeover. My living room is a bit of a conundrum.  It is sunken from hall and dining room and also has a cathedral ceiling. The 2 storey windows are lovely and usually my focal point but as I said I am feeling a bit restless so time for a change.

Faux Fireplace/Bookcase

via: blogspot

Unexpected Bookcase

via: BHG

I was inspired to create a faux fireplace from some Pinterest pics. I remembered a bookcase I distressed that was in our rec room.  It was a little long but I thought it could work as my faux fireplace setting and I set about rearranging.

My version after staging and re-staging vignettes (and it now reads Live Love Laugh – it’s a family motto, not sure what I was thinking).

093

Butterfly Calligraphy PillowLindon Lumbar Pillow - PeacockVibrant Paisley Panel

I had purchased 2 pillows and some curtains (for my adjoining dining room) from Pier 1 and started moving furniture.

1. Chaise (originally on the wall with the bookcase) facing bookcase with love seat.

053

2. Chaise facing bookcase with 2 chairs.

033

This table behind the chaise doesn’t work but you can see the step down here. The family hated this set up and said it looks “weird” from the other side with the chaise facing the bookcase…Next!

070

3. Chaise and 2 chairs facing each other was actually a good option except…

069

…boo hiss the back of the table isn’t finished.

101

4. So this is where I ended up.

102

108

095

My little touch of Disney.

104

Almost forgot to show the coordinating curtains in the dining room. Now I think the dining room is too dark. Time for more changes? Yep! Always a work in progress.

Posted on March 11, 2013, in home decor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

