Curses! The Death of Cursive.

My daughter needed help drafting her very first cover letter.  She’s not getting a paid job (yet!) but it is required for a camp leadership course she is participating in this summer.  I asked her why she wanted to be in the program and jotted down her responses while she started on the computer.  A day later I asked her if she had completed the cover letter and she said no because she couldn’t read my writing.  Not that my writing was so messy but SHE COULD NOT READ CURSIVE!  Still? I was floored.

What do they teach these kids?  Well they actually do teach them cursive writing.  The scrolling script of individual letters is taught to them but they do not require them to practice it.  Huh?  My children are illiterate to hand writing!

I think I’ll just start to leave messages around the house in cursive, like clues to a scavenger hunt.  They have to figure it out or maybe they don’t eat or I can’t drive them anywhere. Oh this could be fun!  Cursive, a necessary skill or old world relic?

Posted on February 28, 2013, in school, teens, thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. VERY TRUE
    And very sad. What would ever happen if the computer world we live in disappeared?
    It would all be chicken scratches, bad spelling,
    grammar and punctuation.
    Not that I am perfect, However I do still make a point of trying to remember the grade school lessons.

Leave a Reply

